[Grammar] The conditional : -(으)면 if, when

Verb/Adjective + -(으)면 ~

-(으)면 means ‘if’ and ‘when’, it connects two sentences which are the first sentence(conditional) + the second sentence(result). The conditional sentence is about the future or something that doesn’t happen right now, so you shouldn’t use the past tense in the second sentence.

 

Verb/Adjective stem(consonant) + 으면 : 먹으면, 받으면, 있으면
Verb/Adjective stem(vowel or ㄹ) + 면 : 마시면, 사면, 오면, 벌면

 

1) 저는 고기를 많이 먹으면 배가 아파요. If I eat too much meat, my stomach hurts.
2) 이번 달 월급을 받으면 차를 살 거예요. When I get my paycheck(salary) this month, I am going to buy a car.
3) 50 달러가 있으면 좀 빌려 주세요. If you have $50, please lend it to me.
4) 저는 술을 마시면 얼굴이 빨개져요. When I drink alcohol, my face turns red.
5) 카메라를 사면 저한테 알려 주세요. When you buy a camera, please let me know.
6) 비가 오면 집에 있을 거예요. If it rains, I will stay home.
7) 수업이 일찍 끝나면 뭐 할 거예요? If the class finishes early, what are you going to do?

* 비가 오면 집에 있었어요. (X)

 

Practice)
1) 집에 도착하다 + 저한테 전화해 주세요.
2) 날씨가 좋다 + 사진 찍으러 가요.
3) 사진을 찍다 + 보여 주세요.
4) 친구를 사귀고 싶다 + 우리 모임에 오세요.
5) 한국어를 할 줄 알다 + 이것 좀 번역해 주세요.
6) 제가 집에 없다 + 메모를 남기세요.
7) 배가 아프다 + 병원에 가 보세요.

Uses in Korean songs)

This is an old song that I really like. 🙂 It is old, but very easy and every single Korean knows this song.

Another song that I like.

One thought on “[Grammar] The conditional : -(으)면 if, when

Leave a Reply

