[Grammar] Time particle : -에

-에 is the time particle which takes place after nouns that mean “time”.  It means that a verb or an adjective happens “at/on/in this time”.  You should know few things about the time particle -에.

1. If there are many nouns that mean time, you put -에 after the last time nouns.

e.g) 내년 9월 10일 5시 결혼해요.  I am going to get married at 5 o’clock on September 10th next year. (** The order for time is from the largest to the smallest unit : next year->9/10->5 o’clock)

2. There are few nouns that you CAN NOT put -에 even though they are time nouns.  For example, 어제(yesterday), 오늘(today), 내일(tomorrow), 언제(when), 매일(every day), 매주(every week), 매달(every month), 매년(every year) etc.

e.g) 오늘 학교에 가요. I am going to school today.

Practice>> You can listen to the pronunciation here.

내년 한국에 가요.
I am going to Korea next year.
9월 결혼해요.
I am going to marry in September.
월요일 친구 집에 가요.
I am going to my friend’s house on Monday.
아침 학교에 가요.
I go to school in the morning.
9시 아침 식사해요.
I eat the breakfast at 9 o’clock.
오늘 백화점 가요.

오늘에 백화점에 가요(X)

I am going to a department store today.
매일 공부해요.

매일에 공부해요.(X)

I study every day.
오늘 오후 영화를 봐요.

오늘에 오후에 영화를 봐요.(X)

I am going to watch a movie this afternoon.
내년 9월 10일 5시 결혼해요.

내년에 9월 10일에 5시에 결혼해요.(X)

I am going to get married at 5 o’clock on September 10th next year.

 

4 thoughts on “[Grammar] Time particle : -에

  1. Hi,

    if we want to say something takes 1 hour, for e.g. 한 시간, do you add ~에 after that? thank you.

Leave a Reply

