[Grammar] -기로 하다 decide to

-기로 하다

means ‘decide to do something’. It can use it for your decision or a plan with someone else. We usually use it as past tense, you can use it as a suggestion with present tense or -(으)ㅂ시다.

올해부터 술을 안 마시기로 했어요. I decided not to drink from this year.
혼자 배낭여행을 가기로 했어요. I decided to go backpacking by myself.
친구하고 강남에서 만나기로 했어요. My friend and I decided to meet in Gangnam.
주말에 엄마하고 쇼핑 가기로 했어요. My mom and I decided to go shopping.
이번 휴가 때 유럽에 여행 가기로 했어요. I(we) decided to go to Europe for this vacation.
오늘부터 담배를 끊기로 했는데 실패했어요. I decided to quit smoking, but I failed it.
다이어트 하기로 했는데 오늘너무 많이 먹었어요. I decided to go on a diet, but I ate a lot today.

우리 다음 주에 만나기로 해요. (=우리 다음 주에 만나요.) Let’s meet next week.
서울에서 보기로 합시다. (=서울에서 만납시다.) Let’s meet in Seoul.
저녁 나가서 먹기로 해요. (=저녁 나가서 먹어요.) Let’s eat out for dinner.
우리 이제 만나지 말기로 해요.  (=우리 이제 만나지 말아요.) Let’s not see each other anymore.

You can listen to audio files by clicking here.